Message from AFSEC President

I would first like to thank all the National Committees for giving us the mandate to steer the affairs of AFSEC during the extra-ordinary General Assembly Meeting in Cairo in July 2019. We accepted the opportunities and the challenges that go with such service, but little did we expect COVID-19 coming with its challenges.

I would like to express my deepest appreciation to the First President of AFSEC, Mr. Claude Koutua (2008-2019) and the first Executive Secretary, Mr. Paul Johnson (2008-2018) for steering the affairs of AFSEC through its teething stages, for more than 10 years. We are most grateful to them and many others who worked behind the scenes to bring AFSEC this far.

The year 2020 saw AFSEC holding a couple of Management Committee meetings and the first ever virtual AFSEC General Assembly Meeting, preceded by the 10th AFSEC Management Committee Zoom Meeting. The AFSEC Secretariat under the leadership of Eng. Mrs Omneya Sabry rose to the occasion with the provision of seamless translation services in English and French. The National Committees of Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Cote d’Ivoire, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Rwanda, Zambia, Namibia, Ethiopia and Uganda participated in the General Assembly Meeting. The meeting adopted a number of standards and our Final Communication /Marketing Plan which will enhance AFSEC’s visibility to other organizations. I would like to thank all those who worked tirelessly on the documents, especially our IEC resource person, Ms Evah Oduor with support from PTB who continues to sponsor AFSEC’s activities.

During the meeting we elcted some new Technical Committee (TC) Chairs and Regional Representatives. As I congratulate the new officers, I would like to thank their predecessors for their invaluable contributions to AFSEC.

Mr. Bernard Modey is the second AFSEC president is Senior Ghana Technical Lead at USAID-West Africa Energy Program (WAEP) - has been elected – at The Extraordinary GA meeting in July 2019 for the term 2020-2023.

Message from AFSEC President

I look back on 2018 both with satisfaction on what AFSEC has achieved, and with the realization that we have only started on a long journey to improve standardization and quality infrastructure in Africa to support infrastructure development and access to modern energy for all African people.

Having been mandated to serve AFSEC as President for one more year, it is important that we use the year of 2019 to consolidate the functioning of the new secretariat and incoming office bearers. I take this opportunity to confirm the roles of the incoming office bearers commencing January 2019: the new Executive Secretary, Eng. Omneya Sabry, from Egypt, the new First Vice President, Jacob Akoussi, from Côte d’Ivoire, and the new Second Vice President, Kuta Omar, From Kenya.

Of course there will be more changes to be announced in 2019, with elections for my successor as President and for the Treasurer to succeed Dr Khaled Eldestawy. There will also be elections for several AFSEC TC Chairmen whose terms end in 2019.

I should be remiss not to acknowledge the significant roles of the outgoing members of the AFSEC Executive, Rojas Manyame, Evah Odour and Paul Johnson. Without their support and dedication AFSEC could not have developed so successfully. Thank you, thank you - from me personally and on behalf of all members of AFSEC.

Best wishes for a safe and peaceful festive season shared with loved ones.

Happy new Year