Any country wishing to participate in the work of the Commission, forms a National Electrotechnical Committee. There is only one National Electrotechnical Committee per country. Only the National Committees of African Union (AU) member states can become members of the Commission.

The National Electrotechnical Committee must be fully representative of the national interests in the fields of activity of the Commission.

The members of the African Electrotechnical Standardization Commission (AFSEC) that have accepted to comply with the Statutes and Rules of Procedure are:


The fees are based on each country’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP)

Conditions of Joining AFSEC

NEC/Structure and NEC Country composition members and the organizations that they represent.

Annual fee structure for statutory members

Sub-regional groupings are also invited to join as affiliate members of AFSEC, and any other African organisations involved in electrotechnical standardization. Please contact the AFSEC Secretariat, email: for more information

GDP [$b p.a.]
GDP > 100
100 ≤ GDP > 60
60 ≤ GDP >20
20 ≤ GDP > 10
10 ≤ GDP
Annual Fee [US $]
$15 000
$10 000
$7 500
$2 500

Membership application form